Why do I like to build 109s?

I have more Messerschmitt 109s than most people have kits, why?  I like it that is why.  Is it the colors?  The markings?  The history?  The pilots?  I have no idea why.  I’ve always liked the airplane.  I can’t explain it.  As soon as I learned to airbrush I started to do the mottling, or at least trying to.  I took to it like a duck to water. 

The 109 made me stretch my creative legs.  Why?  Because I wanted to learn how to do it.  It works for me.  I got the mottling down.  I learned to scratchbuild cockpits and other pieces.  I learned to work with resin and photo etch.  This formed my base in model building.  The 109 is a great basis for learning.  I try to learn something new on every kit.  Sometimes it is a technique, sometimes it is a new tool or product.  Some times I had to learn to do figures, bases, and diorama items.  I even had to build some armor so that I could use them with my 109s.

OK so I may be a little obsessive compulsive, some people call it passion, but it is a lot of fun.  I have more than 130 1/48th scale 109s.  Yeah that is more than most people have kits.  I figure with around 35,000 examples being built 130 sounds a little light. 

So where does your passion lay?

3 Responses to “Why do I like to build 109s?”

  1. Bloodgroove Says:

    Floyd, I’ve always wondered what you did with all your built models. Do you have a giant room with nothing but models in it? Or, are they stuffed into every nook and cranny? Do you give them away? Keep some? Just curious.

    My passion for models (and aircraft) is the 190 – particularly the long nose versions. Of which you have built some beauts!

  2. Floyd S. Werner, Jr. Says:

    I have two large display cases in my living room. My wife is very understanding. All my built models are in there someplace. I’ve got them broken down into categories such as two shelves of Bf-109s. I’ve dontated some models to museums and, of course, an occassional commission build takes some away.

    The display cases are a nice way to showcase what I do to people who come over. It is easier to show them what I do than explain it.

    I don’t know what I’ll do when I run out of room this time.

  3. Bloodgroove Says:

    Well, I always wondered. Not sure why I never asked until now. And those must be REALLY LARGE display cases. And you’re right, of course, about the showing. So much easier than the telling. And if the person is it all interested, they’ll ask you about various techniques.

Leave a Reply

